When does a will have to be read after someone dies? I do not know the history behind this. I’ve heard it many times and the people call me and ask me about when the will is going to be read. I’ve been practicing for over 50 years and it was not the law whenever I started practicing, nor is it now. I don’t know whether this is something new the old English law or where this came about, but there’s no provision under the laws of the state of Florida that a Will must be read to the beneficiaries or the family. And so you do not have a gathering around the attorney’s desk and office, to read the Will to the beneficiaries or to the family. The Florida statutes required that a Will be deposited with the clerk of the court within 10 days of the, of the date that you received notice of the death of the decedent. So unfortunately I don’t know the history behind this, but there’s no provision under our photo law that requires the Will to be read. I don’t know if this is something that was invented for the movies or whether it has some history in the English common law. If you have any questions about this, give me a call at (727) 847-2288.
When Does A Will Have To Be Read After Someone Dies?