Video Summary

 

Once you are eligible for Florida Medicaid, can you live in an assisted living facility? The answer is yes, you can. As far as qualifying for Medicaid, you must meet certain criteria, which is an asset test and also an income test. You cannot rent out your, if you own a home and then you’re going to move to an assisted living facility, you can’t rent out your home or sell the home. You can also obtain Medicaid assistance as far as going into an assisted living facility. Although there is a wait list , I don’t know, a year or 18 months or whatever, and you should contact an elder law lawyer. The question all had the were also had words in here about Medicare, which it doesn’t matter if you can live anywhere you want to with Medicare, that does not prohibit you from where you live or what you in anything as far as your economic, income or your assets, as far as receiving Medicare is concerned. So if you have any questions about this, you can give me a call at  (727) 847-2288.

Video Summary

How much money can you make and still qualify for Medicaid in Florida ,as of January, 2021, the amount comes to $2,382. And this has to do with whenever you’re attempting to qualify for a skilled nursing care, or other Medicaid benefits. There’s a Florida house, a two-part test. And as far as qualifying, not only do you have to meet the income guidelines, you also have to meet the asset guidelines. And one of the big assets that is not considered in the Medicaid formula is your home. If you own a home, that’s not counted as an asset, as far as qualifying for Medicaid. If your income exceeds the $2,380, there is a what they call a Miller trust. It can be set up, so that,  say your income is $3,000 and your nursing home bill is 8,000. You can set up a Miller trust and still qualify for Medicaid by having your income paid into the Miller trust and that thereby qualify. So, if you’re looking to qualify for Medicaid, if you give me a call at (727) 847-2288, I’d be glad to direct you or discuss with you your situation. I look forward to your call at (727) 847-2288

Video Summary

How do I protect my assets from Medicaid in Florida? You’re not really protecting them from Medicaid. What you’re doing is, you must qualify for Medicaid in Florida, and that may require you to spend down or use your assets to pay for your own care until they reach a certain threshold. There are two guide. There’s an asset test and income test for married persons, which is quite generous. However, if you’re a single person, the qualify for Medicaid, the amount that you can have is truly a small amount. I think it’s about $5,000. However, one big benefit that we have in Florida is your home. If you have homestead exemption on your home, then that does not qualify as an asset and does not have to be sold or used, the money from it for your care or to qualify for Medicaid. The property can’t be rented, however, it’s not considered, an asset as far as qualifying for Medicaid. So that is a huge benefit. Also, there are certain trusts that you can set up called a Miller trust to help qualify you. So if you need to do some Medicaid planning to try to preserve some of your assets for your heirs, give me a call at (727) 847- 2288.

Video Summary

What is the look back period for Medicaid and Florida? It is five years. So whenever an application is made for Medicaid, you must indicate whether or not any conveyances transfers have been made for less than full and fair consideration. I believe the threshold amount is $500. As far as the value of any gifts or transfers that have been made, if any had been made during the five year period, well then it may, it will disqualify the applicant for a certain period of time, which is developed by dividing into the amount the cost of the Medicaid benefits. So, the five year period is five years. And in Florida, as far as Medicaid’s concern, and any questions about Medicaid will give me a call (727) 847-2288.

Video Summary

If I purchase a house or property and put my child’s name on it, will this be counted as a gift?

Well, the answer is yes, you’re gifting them an interest in property. So when do you need to worry about gifting property to your children is if you would decide to apply for Medicaid. That may disqualify you for the amount of the gift if it happens within five years that you apply for Medicaid. Sometimes, people call me or want to do this in order to avoid probate, and they want to add their child’s name to a deed as joint tenants with right of survivorship. I did not suggest doing this. There’s life estate deeds or ladybird deeds that can take care of avoiding probate whenever you hold title jointly with your children. The problem is, they now own a half-interest in the property, subject to any creditors’ claims that your children may have. So it’s somewhat problematic, even worse if your children are minors. Then you won’t be able to sell it unless you have a guardianship, possibly. So it’s not a particularly good idea. So, the idea is to say what you’re trying to accomplish. Are you trying to avoid probate by doing this? What is the purpose?

So if you have a question about that before you add your child’s name to a deed or purchase property in their name, give me a call at 727-847-2288.